Shadow of the Colossus — a different approach towards gaming experience

Shubhomoy Biswas
5 min readMar 22, 2020

Disclaimer: This is not a game review but my thoughts after playing Shadow of the Colossus. Please do not read this article if you’re planning to play the game as it contains spoilers.

“Shadow of the Colossus” quickly became an influential title after its release on Playstation 2 consoles back in 2006. So much so that the developers released its remake for Playstation 3 and 4. That’s like supporting the game for two console generations! Though it caught my attention few months back, it kept slipping behind my next “buy” list. Recently self quarantining myself at home due to the Coronavirus outbreak, I was searching for ways to kill time with and finally spent a few cents (was on a huge sale) to buy this game and try it out.

My initial expectations from “Shadow of the Colossus” was not as high as it would have been if I were to play a current generation game. I was only there to experience the storyline and the narrative, which are the key features and placed the game in the top charts back then. In about 5 minutes of play through, I was mesmerised by the hard work the developers have put into the remake. Graphically it was top notch. The environment was fraught with verdant valleys, rugged mountains, sandy deserts and leafy trees. There were all beautifully portrayed to bring the sense of realism.

From the reviews, I already knew what the game will offer, though I stayed away from any spoilers and the story ending. You are a warrior who is in a quest to bring life to an incapacitated maiden (the relation between them is left for the players to decide) and to do so he must travel far and wide to slay 16 humungous beings or colossi. The brevity of this objective makes it a standout from the rest of today’s gaming experience. But after defeating 12 colossi or so, it made me question my intentions on this one.

Here is snapshot of one colossus we encounter early in the game.

I constantly assured myself about the adventures which are about to come in between killing these monsters, but the game was opposing my future thoughts. It was indeed basically just slaying those 16 colossi one after another. To add more to this and considering each one’s size, defeating them was also not that much of a challenge where my hands would sweat or give few chills down the spine. After the 16th colossus collapsed to the ground, I made myself prepared for the dramatic ending which was about to come. Guess what? The game did not offer that too. In the end, the protagonist (warrior) died a miserable death for the deeds he had done in order to change the law of nature, ie bringing life to a dead soul. After that, the credits rolled.

Sitting on my chair and staring at the credits, I wondered whether I had missed something? Maybe I finished the game too early and missed any side quests which would have added some light to the main story? When nothing meaningful came out, I googled about the game. This time I made sure to read every single spoilers and the ending.

Seems like “Shadow of the Colossus” tried to offer a different type of gameplay. It is all about how the players perceive their act when slaying those colossi. It questions their morality. You are the saviour and also the demon. It’s just how you think of yourself. To bring this type of sensation and add emotions, the designers weaved the game with great soundtrack which you would expect when performing the killing moves. It is blood-pumping and filled with energy but after you make the final killing blow, the music makes a sudden transition to a sad and grieving tune. For the colossi themselves, they are massive, sinister looking. Their shadowy presence will inject fear from a distance. But up close, near the vital point, which is always the top of their head, their face look childish, innocent. Each one possess some kind of human-like characteristics, like fear from fire, showing pain when stabbed in vital points, etc. These beings were designed not to harm anybody unless explicitly disturbed. They are slow and incompetent of any magical or quick actions. So why such pre-defined goals to start with, where the fate is already decided and there is no choice left for the players to take?

It’s all about the player’s questionable actions. Would you take out the lives of these innocent beings just so that you can revive one you’ve lost? It’s a test of emotions, stir doubts in the player’s mind and concluding that nothing can change the law of nature and there’s a price to be paid if done so. Now that I have read this, I felt stupid. There are some unanswered questions within me. Maybe the game is indeed dated? Maybe I am stripped of all emotions? Or maybe, I have researched far too deep into the technicality of this game. Nonetheless, it took care of my boredom during this quarantine period and would absolutely recommend this title to others.

--

--